Proudly South African tea time treat 

Today is the same as yesterday and the day before and the day before with this horrible drought that hit South  Africa. 

Too windy to slack rope outside and we have now got water  restrictions so no gardening, and of that I mean I would of done a few seed trays . I can’t do that with all these water ristrictions. 

So I will sit on my but and watch my baby boy as he sleeps , blog and read a bit, I love to read and when I read, I don’t know why butt I love a little snack with me. 

My snack is a nice cup of truly South African rooibos tea of which I do not add sugar or milk in my rooibos tea, as I feel it kills the true flavor and aromas of the tea, with that I am having a koeksister. What is a koeksister you ask ? What is rooibos tea? 

Definition of a Koeksister: Koeksisters are prepared by frying plaited dough rolls in oil, then submersing the fried dough into ice cold sugar syrup.

Definition of rooibos tea:An evergreen South African shrub of the pea family.Early 20th century: from Afrikaans, literally red bush.
How to make a koeksister:Syrup


250 ml water (1 cup)

625 ml white sugar (2 1/2 cups)

12 1⁄2 ml lemon juice (2 1/2 tsp.)

5 ml vanilla essence (1 tsp.)

  

Dough


375 ml cake flour (1 1/2 cups)

22 ml baking powder (4 1/2 tsp.)

1 ml salt (1/4 tsp.)

20 g butter or 20 g margarine

150 ml milk (the vanilla soy milk gives added flavor, 5/8 cup) or 150 ml vanilla-flavored soymilk (the vanilla soy milk gives added flavor, 5/8 cup)

750 ml canola oil (3 cups) 


Put the water and sugar in a pot and bring to boil on low heat. Stir frequently until the sugar is completely dissolved. Boil for 7 minutes.

Remove the pot from the stove and stir in the lemon juice and vanilla essence. Put the pot into the fridge.

Mix the flour, salt, and baking powder thoroughly in a mixing bowl. Break the butter or margarine into small pieces and add to the four mixture. Add the milk. Mix well until a dough is formed.

Roll the dough out to a thickness of 5 mm (+ or – 1/4 in.). Cut the dough into thin (+ or – 10 mm or 1/2 in.) strips. Take 3 strips and join their ends on one side. Braid the strips to desired koeksister length and join other ends.

Heat the oil in a pot until fairly hot. Put about 3 koeksisters (or what can fit)at a time in the oil and fry them on both sides until they get a golden-brown color. As you remove the koeksisters for the oil, place them directly ito the syrup from the fridge. It is important to keep the syrup cool, so between soakings, return the syrup to the fridge to maintain its coolness.

Remove the koeksisters from the syrup and allow the excess syrup to drip off. Place them in the refrigerator to cool and then enjoy 🙂 



Leave a Reply

